College Structure

The academic credit programs of the University are administered by eight colleges: the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, the College of Business Administration, the College of Education, the College of Health and Human Sciences, the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Information Technology, the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health, the College of Science and Mathematics, and the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies. Except for the College of Graduate Studies, each of these is subdivided into schools or departments. A dean directs each college, a director or chair each school, and a chair each department. The following organizational structure provides for the degrees, fields of study, and courses set out in this catalog.

I. College of Business AdministrationDr. Allen C. Amason, Dean
School of Accountancy
Dr. Timothy A. Pearson, Director
Department of Finance and Economics
Dr. Rand W. Ressler, Chair
Department of Information Systems
Dr. Camille Rogers, Interim Chair
Department of Logistics and Supply Chain Management
Dr. Gerard Burke, Chair
Department of Management
Dr. Robert Hoell, Chair
Department of Marketing
Dr. Michael L. Thomas, Chair
II. College of EducationDr. Thomas R. Koballa, Jr., Dean
Department of Curriculum, Foundations, and Reading
Dr. Kent Rittschof, Chair
Department of Leadership, Technology, and Human Development
Dr. Beth Durodoye, Chair
Department of Teaching and Learning
Dr. Bruce Field, Chair
III. Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Information TechnologyDr. Mohammad Davoud, Dean
Department of Civil Engineering and Construction Management
Dr. N. Michael Jackson, Chair
Department of Electrical Engineering
Dr. Youakim Kalaani, Chair
Department of Manufacturing Engineering
Dr. Daniel J. Cox, Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Brian Vlcek, Chair
Department of Computer Sciences
Dr. Muralidhar Medidi, Chair
Department of Information Technology
Dr. Susan Rebstock Williams, Chair
IV. College of Health and Human SciencesDr. Barry Joyner, Dean
School of Human Ecology
Dr. Cynthia Elaine Johnson, Chair
School of Health and Kinesiology
Dr. Katherine Thomas, Chair
School of Nursing
Dr. Sharon Radzyminski, Chair
V. College of Liberal Arts and Social SciencesDr. Curtis Eugene Ricker, Dean
Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art
Mr. Robert Farber, Chair
Department of Communication Arts
Dr. Pamela Bourland-Davis, Chair
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Dr. Brenda Sims Blackwell, Chair
Department of Foreign Languages
Dr. Eric J. Kartchner, Chair
Department of History
Dr. Johnathan O'Neill, Chair
Department of Literature and Philosophy
Dr. Karin Fry, Chair
Department of Music
Dr. Steven Harper, Chair
Department of Political Science and International Studies
Dr. Barry Balleck, Chair
Department of Psychology
Dr. Michael Nielson, Chair
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Dr. Marieke Van Willigen, Chair
Department of Writing and Linguistics
Dr. Dan Bauer, Chair
Institute for Public and Nonprofit Studies
Dr. Trent Davis, Director
VI. Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public HealthDr. Greg Evans, Dean
Department of Biostatistics
Dr. Robert Vogel, Chair
Department of Community Health Behavior and Education
Dr. Joseph Telfair, Chair
Department of Environmental Health Sciences
Dr. Joseph Telfair, Chair
Department of Epidemiology
Dr. Robert Vogel, Chair
Department of Health Policy and Management
Dr. Gerald Ledlow, Chair
VII. College of Science and MathematicsDr. Martha L. Abell, Dean
Department of Biology
Dr. Stephen P. Vives, Chair
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Dr. John C. DiCesare, Chair
Department of Geology and Geography
Dr. Jeffery Underwood, Chair
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Dr. Sharon E. Taylor, Chair
Department of Military Science
MAJ Erik Kjonnerod, Chair
Department of Physics
Dr. Clayton Heller, Chair
Institute for Coastal Plain Science
Dr. Daniel Gleason, Director
VIII. Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate StudiesDr. Charles E. Patterson, Dean