Returned Check Procedure
Checks (paper or electronic) returned for any reason will be handled in accordance with the state laws of Georgia and the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia policies. Returned items will be assessed a service fee of $30.00, or 5% of the face value of the check, whichever is greater, and a hold will be placed on the student’s record. The University will notify the student (maker) of the returned item via certified mail detailing the payment options available.
Tuition/fee payments returned for non-sufficient funds will be re-deposited the first three weeks of class. Tuition/fee payments returned after the cancellation date must be paid within 10 days of the date of the notice or the student may be administratively withdrawn from all classes and charged for the time enrolled, according to the University catalog.
After three checks (paper or electronic) have been returned, the student’s (maker’s) privilege of writing checks to the University will be suspended.
All amounts owed to the University that are not cleared when due will be subject to reasonable collection fees which could include collection agency fees, attorney fees, court costs and other charges necessary for the collection of the debt.