The University System of Georgia

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia was created in 1931 as part of a reorganization of Georgia’s state government.  With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority.  The Board oversees 28 institutions including:  4 research universities, 4 comprehensive universities, 10 state universities, and 10 state colleges.  The University System of Georgia also has oversight of the Georgia Archives and the Georgia Public Library System.

The governor appoints members to the Board, who each serves seven years.  Today the Board of Regents is composed of 19 members, five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the 14 congressional districts.  The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System, but is not a member of the Board.  The Chair, the Vice Chair, and other officers of the Board are elected by the members of the Board.