The University System of Georgia

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia was created in 1931 as part of a reorganization of Georgia’s state government. With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority. The Board oversees 28 institutions including: 4 research universities, 4 comprehensive universities, 10 state universities, and 10 state colleges. The University System of Georgia also has oversight of the Georgia Archives and the Georgia Public Library System.

The governor appoints members to the Board, who each serves seven years. Today the Board of Regents is composed of 19 members, five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the 14 congressional districts. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System, but is not a member of the Board. The Chair, the Vice Chair, and other officers of the Board are elected by the members of the Board. 

System Institutions

Research Universities

  • Augusta University, Augusta
  • Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta
  • Georgia State University, Atlanta
  • University of Georgia, Athens

Comprehensive Universities

  • Georgia Southern University, Statesboro
  • Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw
  • University of West Georgia, Carrollton
  • Valdosta State University, Valdosta

State Universities

  • Albany State University, Albany
  • Armstrong State University, Savannah
  • Clayton State University, Morrow
  • Columbus State University, Columbus
  • Fort Valley State University, Fort Valley
  • Georgia College and State University, Milledgeville
  • Georgia Southwestern State University, Americus
  • Middle Georgia State University, Macon
  • Savannah State University, Savannah
  • University of North Georgia, Dahlonega

State Colleges

  • Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Tifton
  • Atlanta Metropolitan State College, Atlanta
  • Bainbridge State College, Bainbridge
  • College of Coastal Georgia, Brunswick
  • Dalton State College, Dalton
  • East Georgia State College, Swainsboro
  • Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville
  • Georgia Highlands College, Rome
  • Gordon State College, Barnesville
  • South Georgia State College, Douglas

System Administration

Members of the Board of Regents1

  District Term Ends
W. Paul Bowers, Atlanta (State-at-Large) 2020
James M. Hull, Augusta (State-at-Large) 2023
Donald M. Leebern, Jr., McDonough (State-at-Large) 2019
Thomas Rogers Wade, Atlanta (State-at-Large) 2020
Larry Walker, Perry (State-at-Large) 2023
Don L. Waters, Savannah (1st District) 2018
Doreen Stiles Poitevint, Bainbridge (2nd District) 2018
C. Thomas Hopkins, Jr., Griffin (3rd District) 2017
C. Dean Alford, Conyers (4th District) 2019
Sarah-Elizabeth Reed, Atlanta (5th District) 2024
Kessel Stelling, Jr., Columbus (6th District) 2022
Richard L. Tucker, Duluth (7th District) 2019
Rutledge A. Griffin, Jr., Valdosta (8th District) 2018
Philip A. Wilheit, Sr., Gainesville (9th District) 2022
Benjamin J. Tarbutton III, Sandersville (10th District) 2020
Neil L. Pruitt, Jr., Norcross (11th District) 2017
Laura Marsh, Statesboro (12th District) 2020
Sachin Shailendra, Atlanta (13th District) 2021
Scott Smith, Ringgold (14th District) 2020

Officers and Staff Members of the Board of Regents

  • C. Thomas Hopkins, Jr., Chairman
  • James M. Hull, Vice Chairman
  • Steve Wrigley, Chancellor
  • Samuel C. Burch, Secretary to the Board

For the most recent information, refer to