College Structure

The academic credit programs of the University are administered by eight colleges: the College of Arts and Humanities, the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences, the College of Business , the College of Education, the Waters College of Health Professions, the Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing, the Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health, the College of Science and Mathematics, and the Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies. Except for the College of Graduate Studies, each of these is subdivided into schools or departments. A dean directs each college, a director or chair each school, and a chair in each department. The following organizational structure provides for the degrees, fields of study, and courses set out in this catalog.

I. College of Arts and Humanities Dr. Curtis Eugene Ricker, Dean
Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art
Mr. Jeff Garland, Chair
Department of Communication Arts
Dr. Pamela Bourland-Davis, Chair
Department of Foreign Languages
Dr. Eric J. Kartchner, Chair
Department of History
Dr. Lisa Denmark, Interim Chair
Department of Literature
Dr. Beth Howells, Chair
Department of Music
Dr. Steven Harper, Chair
Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies
Dr. Karin Fry, Chair
Department of Writing and Linguistics
Dr. Russell Willerton, Chair
II. College of Behavioral Health and Social Sciences Dr. John Kraft, Interim Dean
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Dr. Laura Agnich, Interim Chair
Department of Human Ecology
Dr. Beth Myers, Chair
Department of Psychology
Dr. Michael Nielson, Chair
Department of Public and Nonprofit Studies
Dr. Trent Davis, Chair
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Dr. Marieke Van Willigen, Chair
III. College of Business Dr. Allen C. Amason, Dean
School of Accountancy
Dr. Timothy A. Pearson, Director
Department of Economics
Dr. Yassaman Saadatmand, Chair
Department of Finance
Dr. Joseph Ruhland, Interim Chair
Department of Information Systems
Dr. Yoris Au, Chair
Department of Logistics and Supply Chain Management
Dr. Gerard Burke, Chair
Department of Management
Dr. Robert Hoell, Chair
Department of Marketing
Dr. Michael L. Thomas, Chair
IV. College of Education Dr. Thomas R. Koballa, Jr., Dean
Department of Curriculum, Foundations, and Reading
Dr. Kent Rittschof, Chair
Department of Elementary and Special Education
Dr. John Hobe, Chair
Department of Leadership, Technology, and Human Development
Dr. Beth Durodoye, Chair
Department of Middle Grades and Secondary Education
Dr. Amelia Adkins, Chair
V. Allen E. Paulson College of Engineering and Computing Dr. Mohammad Davoud, Dean
Department of Civil Engineering and Construction Management
Dr. Roger Purcell, Interim Chair
Department of Computer Sciences
Dr. Muralidhar Medidi, Chair
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dr. Youakim Kalaani, Chair
Department of Information Technology
Dr. Hong Zhang, Interim Chair
Department of Manufacturing Engineering
Dr. Daniel J. Cox, Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Dr. Brian Vlcek, Chair
VI. Waters College of Health Professions Dr. Barry Joyner, Dean
Department of Diagnostic and Therapeutic Sciences
Dr. Douglas Masini, Chair
Department of Rehabilitation Sciences
Dr. Maya Clark, Interim Chair
Department of Health Sciences and Kinesiology
Dr. Sara Plaspohl, Interim Chair
School of Nursing
Dr. Catherine Gilbert, Chair
VII. Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health Dr. Greg Evans, Dean
Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Environmental Health Sciences
Dr. Robert Vogel, Chair
Department of Health Policy and Community Health
Dr. Gulzar Shah, Chair
VIII. College of Science and Mathematics Dr. Delana Nivens, Dean
Department of Biology
Dr. Stephen P. Vives, Chair
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Dr. Will Lynch, Chair
Department of Geology and Geography
Dr. James Reichard, Chair
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Dr. Sharon E. Taylor, Chair
Department of Military Science
Lt Col Curtis Perkins, Chair
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Dr. Clayton Heller, Chair
IX. Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies Dr. Ashley D. Walker, Director