May 22, 2024  
2022-2023 Academic Catalog 
2022-2023 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

The University System of Georgia

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia was created in 1931 as part of a reorganization of Georgia’s state government. With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority. The Board oversees 26 higher education institutions including: four research universities, four comprehensive universities, nine state universities, and nine state colleges. The University System of Georgia also includes the Georgia Public Library System and the Georgia Archives.

The governor appoints members to the Board, who each serves seven years. Today the Board of Regents is composed of 19 members, five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the 14 congressional districts. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System. The Chair, the Vice Chair, and other officers of the Board are elected by the members of the Board.

System Institutions

Research Universities

  • Augusta University, Augusta
  • Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta
  • Georgia State University, Atlanta
  • University of Georgia, Athens

Comprehensive Universities

  • Georgia Southern University, Statesboro
  • Kennesaw State University, Kennesaw
  • University of West Georgia, Carrollton
  • Valdosta State University, Valdosta

State Universities

  • Albany State University, Albany
  • Clayton State University, Morrow
  • Columbus State University, Columbus
  • Fort Valley State University, Fort Valley
  • Georgia College and State University, Milledgeville
  • Georgia Southwestern State University, Americus
  • Middle Georgia State University, Macon
  • Savannah State University, Savannah
  • University of North Georgia, Dahlonega

State Colleges

  • Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, Tifton
  • Atlanta Metropolitan State College, Atlanta
  • College of Coastal Georgia, Brunswick
  • Dalton State College, Dalton
  • East Georgia State College, Swainsboro
  • Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville
  • Georgia Highlands College, Rome
  • Gordon State College, Barnesville
  • South Georgia State College, Douglas

System Administration

Members of the Board of Regents1

  District Term Ends
Erin Hames, Atlanta (State-at-Large) 2023
Samuel D. Holmes, Atlanta (State-at-Large) 2026
James M. Hull, Augusta (State-at-Large) 2023
Neil L. Pruitt, Jr., Norcross (State-at-Large) 2027
T. Dallas Smith, Atlanta (State-at-Large) 2027
Don L. Waters, Savannah (1st District) 2025
Barbara Rivera Holmes, Albany (2nd District) 2025
C. Thomas Hopkins, Jr., Griffin (3rd District) 2024
Cade Joiner, Brookhaven (4th District) 2026
Sarah-Elizabeth Reed, Atlanta 5th District) 2024
Richard “Tim” Evans, Alpharetta (6th District) 2029
Jose R. Perez, Peachtree Corners (7th District) 2026
W. Allen Gudenrath, Macon (8th District) 2025
Jim Syfan, Gainesville (9th District) 2029
Harold Reynolds, Greensboro (10th District) 2027
Tom Bradbury, Vinings (11th District) 2024
C. Everett Kennedy, III, Statesboro (12th District) 2027
VACANT, Atlanta (13th District) —-
Lowery Houston May, Rome (14th District) 2027

Officers and Staff Members of the Board of Regents

  • Harold Reynolds, Chair
  • Erin Hames, Vice Chair
  • Sonny Perdue, Chancellor
  • Christopher A. McGraw, Secretary to the Board

1 For the most recent information, refer to

Note: Though the University will try to adhere to dates published here, it may become necessary to make changes to the published calendar. The Office of the Registrar will maintain updates to the calendar and any updates may be viewed on our web site,