May 22, 2024  
2022-2023 Academic Catalog 
2022-2023 Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Organizational Structure of the JPHCOPH

The organizational structure of the JPHCOPH was developed to facilitate the work of the faculty within the three major faculty roles at Georgia Southern University: Teaching, Research, and Service as well as to assist the College in achieving its Vision, Mission, Goals, and Objectives.

Collaboration, facilitation, and personal and collective responsibility are fundamental to the culture of JPHCOPH. Maintaining this culture is required for the effective functioning and advancement of our College.

The following is a listing of the components of the JPHCOPH organizational structure: Office of the Dean, two departments, three centers, and the Public Health Laboratory. Although the academic programs are embedded within the departmental structure, they are governed by the program directors. Associate Deans and Department Chairs are appointed by the Dean. College business is coordinated through standing and ad-hoc committees.

The faculty of the JPHCOPH consist of the professors, associate professors, assistant professors, instructors, lecturers, and adjunct appointments in the two departments. Responsibilities of the faculty within the College include teaching, scholarship, and service. In addition, faculty members may be assigned administrative duties by the Administrative Officers as deemed necessary for effective and efficient functioning of JPHCOPH. The faculty within each Department work in collaboration with the Administrative Officers within the JPHCOPH to advance the Vision, Mission, Values, Goals, and Objectives.

Office of the Dean

Stuart Tedders, Dean
Erin Shuman, Executive Assistant to the Dean & Budget Manager
Bobbie Jo (BJ) Newell, Assessment Specialist
Deborah Harvey, Marketing & Communications Coordinator
Ruth Ellen Whitworth, Academic Professional AC

Office of Academic Affairs

Nandi Marshall, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Monica Brister, Academic Services Coordinator & Graduate Academic Advisor
Sarah Dunn, Undergraduate Academic Advisor
Jeffrey Jones, Bachelor of Science in Public Health Program Director
Joanne Chopak-Foss, Master of Public Health Program Director
Linda Kimsey, Doctor of Public Health Program Director
Katie Mercer, Distance Learning Coordinator

Office of Practice and Research

Joseph Telfair, Associate Dean for Practice & Research

Department of Biostatistics, Epidemiology and Environmental Health Sciences

Hani Samawi, Interim Chair
Jennifer Sowell, Department Coordinator

Department of Health Policy and Community Health

Gulzar Shah, Chair
Mollie Stambaugh, Department Coordinator

Center of Addiction Recovery 

Bret Frazier, Interim Director

Center for Public Health Practice and Research

Charles Owens, Director
Angela Peden, Assistant Director

Karl E. Peace Center for Biostatistics and Survey Research

TBD, Director

Public Health Laboratory

Marina Eremeeva, Director